100 Miles of Nowhere


Today I participated in the virtual “100 Miles of Nowhere” race.  This is an event created by blogger Elden Nelson (otherwise known as Fatty), who writes Fat Cycist at fatcyclist.com.  Fatty started this event to raise money for the Lance Armstrong Foundation.  He lost his wife to breast cancer in 2009.  I tried to register for this ride last year, but it was sold out.  This is the fourth year for the event, and the 500 available spots sold out within a few hours.  I was at the computer when the registration opened to secure my spot. 

The 100 Miles of Nowhere is a race without a place.  You pay $85 for the privilege of riding your rollers, trainer, or a very small course (like around the block) for 100 miles.  All the profits from the entry fees go to LiveStrong for the battle against cancer.  This year the “official” date of the race was Saturday, June 4th, although technically participants can pick any date they want to ride.  Also, the “100 Miles” part is more of a guideline than a rule.  For example, if you’d rather ride 50 miles, or 25, Fatty doesn’t care.  He even opens it up to runners and swimmers.  The best thing about the race is that you will win your division.  You just need to make sure your division is specific enough that there’s no chance anyone else is in it.  The race itself is a fake event, but the schwag bag was for real.  I got some neat cycling related stuff and a really cool event t-shirt.  I didn’t have to get up at 4:34am, travel a riduculous distance, and then wait for half an hour to use a port-a-potty!

I tried to think of a very short course where I could do the 100 miles outside.  I couldn’t come up with a good idea, and with the temperatures forecast to be near 100 degrees, decided I would just do it inside on the trainer where it was cooler.  Also, the bathroom was more convenient which was a big plus.  Let me say that I HATE riding on a trainer.  It is the most boring type of ride you can do.  I also don’t like it because you don’t get terrain changes, therefore you never get to coast and rest.  Granted, you don’t have hills to go up, but you never get to go down any either.  I moved my trainer upstairs and set up in the living room so I could watch television and catch up on my recorded DVR events.  I also set up a big fan to blow on me, so technically I guess I did have a small headwind to battle.  The temperature was a comfortable 73 degrees.  

I originally planned to try to do the full 100 miles, but called it quits at the 50 mile mark.  My tailbone was very tender after basically sitting in the same position all that time.  I think when you ride outside, you tend to shift around on your saddle a bit more to give your butt a break.  So I decided I’d had enough.  Maybe next year I’ll be able to come up with a good route for riding outside……don’t think I’ll be doing the trainer thing again for that type of distance.  So, I guess I won my race today.  My division was “Female, 48, Riding Specialized Ruby Expert, in Living Room in South Western Butler County, Kansas”.  I doubt that anyone else entered under that division. 

201104102246Img_0511Img_0513Img_0510Img_0512Img_0514

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

