Divide Ride Montana – July 21, 2012


Img_4352Img_4351Photo19764663Img_4353Img_4354Img_4355Img_4356Img_4357Img_4358Img_4359Img_4361Img_4362Img_4360Photo68236Photo1973662Photo17565522Photo98362822Img_4363Photo1234

Today Deb had a 6:00 am flight out of Kalispell.  She had to be downstairs to catch a shuttle at 4:30 am.  Of course I had to get up and help her close her exploding bags.  I tried to sleep a bit more, but she texted me several times and even called to chat once.

I got up about 6:00 and was on my bike at 6:45 am.  It was 53 degrees and was a bit cool until I rode enough to warm up.  I rode downtown and then out of town about 3 miles to the Whitefish Trailhead.  On the way I saw a deer along the road and was able to get a couple of pictures.  When I arrived at the trail I did the overlook loop ride.  It was tough going up, but it was worth it.  I had a beautiful view of a small lake below with low clouds hanging just above it.  The sun was still coming across the valley and it was absolutely stunning.  I ate my breakfast of an energy bar at the top.  Going down was a blast…….video to follow once I get home and have a chance edit my footage.

I rode back to town to the bike shop and waited for it to open at 9:00 am.  Once they opened, I retrieved my shipping box and repacked my bike for the journey home.  FedEx will pick it up on Monday.  I walked about a mile back to my motel and got showered and packed.  I’ve been hanging out in the hotel lobby working on my blog and photos from the last few days.  I’ll catch a shuttle to the airport for a 4:50 pm departure.  Barring any airport delays I will get home late tonight. 

It has been a physically challenging ride, but it by far has been the most beautiful place I’ve ever biked.  Deb was a pretty good sport through it all.  I think the reason she didn’t cuss me more for talking her into this crazy ride is because she was simply breathing too hard on the climbs and too out of breath to speak.  We both certainly missed having Lorraine along for the ride on this trip, but are thankful she will recover from her unfortunate accident.  We drank a lot of toasts to our good friend!

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

