Divide Ride Montana


The Divide Ride in Montana was the most challenging bike tour I’ve ever done.  It was well worth the effort……..a great way to see such remote, beautiful country.  I saw abundant wildlife along the way……..deer, turkey, chipmunks, mice, ground squirrels, garter snakes, a moose, and a bear (thankfully in the distance).  Weather for the most part was good.  Varied from my teeth chattering in the cold on the first day to sweating buckets later in the week.  Thanks to Deb K. buying an expensive rain jacket in Bigfork the first day, we only rode in rain one day.  I rode just under 200 miles and climbed nearly 15,500 feet.  I spent a total of just over 25 hours on the bike. 

I’m slowing catching up on my sleep, but am still suffering “beer withdrawal”.  My bike should arrive back home today.  Hopefully it survived the trip with no damage.  I’m already looking forward to my next adventure…….a road bike tour in the Santa Fe/Taos area in September.  Should be a piece of cake after this one.  My road bike weighs about half what my mountain bike does and the route should be easier and more relaxed.  We should be able to finish our rides earlier in the day which will allow for more rehydrating in the afternoons/evenings.  I should start doing my research for the “New Mexico Beer List” soon. 

I edited my video footage and pieced together three clips.  The video doesn’t do justice to the steepness of the terrain.  You can’t tell, but I’m using my brakes quite often to cut down my speed and you’ll notice I am rarely pedaling……enjoy the ride!

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

