Santa Fe/Taos, New Mexico – September 28, 2012


Photo967Photo9153Photo33Photo77Photo88Photo44

 

 

 

 

The organized bicycle tour officially ended this morning with most people catching flights or driving home.  Deb had to catch at shuttle to the Albuquerque airport at 11:30am.  She got most of her stuff packed up and then we walked to a nearby restaurant for breakfast.  We both has the breakfast burrito with chorizo.  It’s a Spanish sausage that’s spicy.  It was very good, but spicy.  We both broke out into a sweat while eating.  Even my palms were sweating.

We went back to the hotel and Deb finished her packing.  I normally have to sit on her suitcase or help her hold the flaps together on her duffel so she can close it.  This trip she wasn’t quite as overloaded, so zipping her bags up wasn’t too difficult.  I waited with Deb until the shuttle picked her up. 

I walked a short distance to a car rental agency where I’d reserved an SUV.  I picked up the vehicle and then drove to a bike shop and rented a mountain bike.  I went back to the hotel and got changed to go for a ride.  I drove north of town to the Dale Ball Trails.  I spent about an hour riding just 4 miles.  In that 4 miles I climbed just under 1,000 feet.  It was a strenuous, but fun ride.  I saw the tail or either a snake or a lizard as it disappeared under a rock and I also saw a very large jack rabbit.  Most of the trail ran through small pine trees with a few cactus scattered around.

I went back to the hotel and had a nutritious late lunch of Cheetos and beer.  Later I ordered in a pizza from Upper Crust Pizza.  It’s been featured on Rachael Ray’s Tasty Travels show.  I relaxed, watched tv, and caught up on my blog.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

