Fruita, Colorado – October 4, 2013



Today I drove 793 miles to Fruita, Colorado which is located on I-70 in extreme western Colorado. It’s only about 15 miles from the Utah state line. It was an all day drive and took about 11 1/2 hours. It started snowing in Denver and I drove in snow for about 3 hours. It was worse as I approached the Eisenhower tunnel and it was really bad on the other side of the divide when I exited. The grade was steep and the road was snow packed and icy. I tried to slow down and skidded. The anti-lock brakes helped, but I still couldn’t get control. I pushed the “snow traction” button but was still having trouble slowing down. Next to the snow button I noticed a button with a picture of a car going downhill. I didn’t know what it was (never having read my entire owner’s manual) but decided to give it a try. It gave me engine braking and did the trick. I later read it was called “downhill assist control”……good to know. It was white knuckle driving descending the pass and then the roads improved. The rest of the drive was uneventful and beautiful. It snowed lightly off and on but the roads were clear. The drive through Glenwood Canyon was beautiful. The aspen trees are golden yellow and the mountains had a dusting of snow…….very pretty scenery. The temperature as I crossed the continental divide was 23 degrees. By the time I arrived at Fruita, it had warmed back up to about 47 degrees. I checked into my motel and then went to the Hot Tomato Cafe for dinner. I had a pizza called “The Sweetness”. It was thin crust with white sauce, fresh rosemary, artichoke hearts, Gorgonzola and mozzarella cheese, with sun dried tomatoes…….good stuff!

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

